California Love

1 Sep

I can’t believe it’s been almost three weeks since I’ve been home. It’s been so fun and nice seeing my family and friends. I got to see Paulina, my best friend since McKinley and my entire crew from UCR which was just the craziest weekend I’ve had in a long time. My mom has been so sweet and caring since I’ve been home, cooking my favorite Mexican food. It made me realize how much I missed tacos, enchiladas, and salsa! I had my favorite Cantonese food my first week back, with the entire family. I’ve been eating lots of cheese and avocadoes too! It’s been food heaven!

ImageI would have to say one of the best reasons to be back home is seeing Bubba, and Ella; my sister Arlene’s babies. Well not really, Ella is 6 now and Bubba is 9 but they are much bigger than how I remember them. It’s been so fun taking them places and spending lots of time with them. We’ve been taking walks, going to the park and museums. I hope to make up for lost time but I know a month isn’t enough to make up for the two years I’ve been gone. I really think children need positive role models in their life, people to look up to and to stimulate their little minds. Teaching children for the past two years has taught me just how precious children are and how important education really is. That’s one thing that might be crazy about Korea, but one of the reasons I love it, the true value and importance that Koreans put on education. In comparison, Americans don’t care, and teachers are barely starting to get the respect they deserve. It’s sad.

Either way, it’s good to be home! It was much needed! I am excited for my European adventures that lay ahead but it was time I came home.

Leave a Reply

